Removing That Which Separates

Early yesterday morning, God woke me up to read Psalm 133. As I read it I realised it was the same scripture my husband had also referred to when I shared this week’s other words with him.
Psalm 133 is a ‘song of ascents’ (ie a song that takes us higher, or closer to God)…

Behold, how good and how pleasant it is
For brothers to dwell together in unity!
It is like the precious oil [of consecration] poured on the head,
Coming down on the beard,
Even the beard of Aaron,
Coming down upon the edge of his [priestly] robes [consecrating the whole body].
It is like the dew of [Mount] Hermon
Coming down on the hills of Zion;
For there the Lord has commanded the blessing: life forevermore.

(AMP)

Although it’s a psalm I’m familiar with, I realised God must have a reason for waking me up to read it, so I asked Him to show me what I must have overlooked, and I felt Him say,

This is what I’m calling My one Church to: true unity, with all the different ingredients fully blended together, to release My anointing and blessing. No separation or division: just one blend of perfumes; one anointing oil; one Body; one Bride; one Kingdom.
All the separate ingredients are beautiful in their own right, but it is only when they are taken out of their separate containers and blended together with no separation that My anointing is released.
My Church, it is My desire for you to come out of the containers that separate you, and to blend together as one.

As I listened, part of me was thinking ‘isn’t that what you’ve been saying all week? why are You saying it again?’ And I realised that not only was the repetition necessary because I clearly haven’t received the fullness of what He is saying, but also because it is so important. There have only been one or two other occasions when God has told me the same thing three times, albeit in slightly different ways – and the last time was in lock-down when He was very firm about resisting the temptation to ‘go back’ to church as we once knew it. So I knew I mustn’t underestimate the importance of what He was saying.

I believe God has been saying all week that yes, He has taken us out of our traditional Sunday meetings in our old buildings, and it’s good that we have mostly let go of those – but it’s time for the next step. I don’t think the shaking/ refining is over yet; I believe there is more shaking to come as God continues to remove the old dividing walls so that His anointing and blessing can flow. As we read in Ps 133, the Lord has commanded the blessing on the place where we dwell in – not just visit – unity. The anointing oil is made of a blend of individual ingredients, taken out of their separate containers and mixed together so they can’t be separated again. There is a wave of outpouring/ glory/ revival to come and our little segregated congregations and denominations are not going to be able to contain it. So let’s be willing to let God continue to dismantle all of the structures we have put in place, to blend us into His one Kingdom: one body; one bride; one Church.

I don’t know what that practically looks like yet – it’s beyond my imagination. I just know He is calling us to press into it so that we don’t resist when even more of our human structures start to fall.

Amen, Lord – make us willing and able to let go of that which separates us, so that we can truly become one with Your Kingdom.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started